What do you drink to keep hydrated?

June 14, 2011

We all know to drink at least six to eight glasses of water each day and that’s the bare minimum for those doing intense cardio or power yoga workouts.  I intend to drink 12-16 glasses of water on power yoga training days, starting this Saturday.   Fresh fruits and vegetables are also water-based and full of hydration.   What else do you eat or drink in addition to water to keep hydrated?  I love new ideas.  Here are some of my favs.

Natural Infused Flavored Water  I love adding fruits to water.  Strawberries, lemons, limes, watermelon, honeydew, cucumbers, raspberries with lemon, and even fresh mint or basil (try strawberry-mint or watermelon-basil!)  Photo:  Green Baby Guide

glass of water infused with watermelon

If you like the idea of fresh natural flavored water but don’t have the time to prepare it try HINT water, it’s the next best thing I’ve found.  HINT water review here

Citrus  I especially love a sweet orange right after a power yoga class.

http://www.viable-herbal.com/images/herbs/orange-peel-bsp.jpg

Herbal Tea  Great alternative to snacking (when I really do not need something to eat.)  There’s lots of great energizing daytime and bedtime flavors too.  In the summer I love iced herbal hibiscus tea.  Make it fancy and drink it out of a wine glass!   My fav at home is Republic of Tea Natural Hibiscus Tea Superflower (Photo below by Republic of Tea ) You simply brew it and add ice.  It’s loaded with vitamin C, it is thought to inhibit the body from absorbing too many carbohydrates, often used to cool the body, and it may actual assist in lowering blood pressure.  But I drink it simply because it’s refreshing! 

Starbucks is my favorite when I’m out and on the go.  They offe an Iced Tazo Passion Tea (Photo by Starbucks.com below)  which is hibiscus based and delicious. (ask for it unsweetened, it’s still sweet and refreshing!)

Tazo® Shaken Iced Passion Tea

Coconut Water  I am a huge fan of fresh coconut water!  I lived in the Caribbean for several years I was able to get fresh coconuts straight from the tree.  An island legand named “Coconut Leo”  climbed the trees, threw the coconuts down then crack them with a machete or sometimes even using his head, true story!  See Coconut Leo’s picture in my post “Free Hugs” 

When I’m unable to get the fresh coconut water but craving the benfits all natural Taste Nirvana Coconut Water is the number one Coconut water in my opinion. I love the one “with pulp”

These are just a few of the health benefits of coconut water.  Google it for more, the list is huge.  Coconut water keeps body cool, rehydrates body, natural isonotic properties full of electrolytes , cleanse digestive tract, carries nutrients and oxygen to cells, balances pH, raises motablism (YES promoting weight loss), boosts circulation, provides magnesium, vitamin C, calcium, Iron, is fat free, and very low in calories.

Emergen-C Health and Energy Booster  Emergen-C Acai, my favorite flavor, is one of my favorite mid (or post) workout recovery drinks loaded with Vitamin C and tons of other vitamins and minerals features “24 nutrients, including 1,000 mg of immune supporting vitamin C,* 7 B vitamins to enhance energy naturally* (no caffeine, no crash), electrolytes to refuel and replenish post-workout,* and more”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

