Pineapple obsession and Fresh Mint Iced Tea

May 15, 2011


Photo of pineapple taken on my visit to the Amazon in Iquitos, Peru 2008
.

I admit, I’m addicted right now!  I can’t get enough, the pineapples are so sweet and delicious right now.  I’ve been shopping at Produce Junction a few days a week where they have awesome produce and prices you can’t possibly beat.   A pineapple usually lasts me three days but today I think I’ll eat the whole thing!    Pineapple is a remarkable fruit. So many reasons to enjoy pineapple beyond the lush, sweet and exotic flavor.  It may be one of the most healthful foods available today.  Based on what I’ve read and collected pineapple is valuable for the following reasons:

  • Easing indigestion, arthritis or sinusitis.
  • The juice has an anthelmintic effect; it helps get rid of intestinal worms.
  • Pineapple is high in manganese, a mineral that is critical to development of strong bones and connective tissue.
  • It helps the body digest proteins more efficiently.  A cup of fresh pineapple will give you nearly 75% of the recommended daily amount Bromelain, a proteolytic enzyme, is the key to pineapple’s value. Proteolytic means “breaks down protein”, which is why pineapple is known to be a digestive aid.
  • The Bromelain found in pineapple is also considered an effective anti-inflammatory.
  • High in Vitamin C and because of the bromelain, it has the ability to reduce mucus in the throat unlike Orange Juice.
  • Those individuals who eat fresh pineapple daily report fewer sinus problems related to allergies
  • It is said to prevent nausea including morning sickness and motion sickness. Fresh juice and some nuts first thing in the morning often makes a difference.
  • Helps with high blood pressure
  • Assists in constipation (high in fiber)
  • Promotes a healthier mouth. The fresh juice discourages plaque growth.
  • Promotes good eyes.  Pineapples protect against age-related eye problems because it is rich in antioxidants.
  • It keeps your skin beautiful! Pineapple contains enzymes that make skin elastic, improve skin hydration, and remove damaged and dead cells. Thus, it helps us achieve a clear and glowing complexion. The enzymes in pineapples also fight free-radical damage and can reduce age spots and fine lines.

I love pineapple right after an intense workout or power yoga class.  It’s important to replace electrolytes lost during exercise and replenish with high potassium foods like pineapple.

If that’s not reason enough to eat Pineapple, maybe this is enough reason for you to enjoy getting pineapple into your diet:  Think tropical, think beaches, think sexy, think Piña Colada!

We ate this pineapple right after our guide chopped it with his machete.

I’m also sipping my refreshing homemade mint iced tea right now, so delicious and so easy! 

Refreshing mint ice tea recipe

Water (according to how much tea you wish to make)

Regular or decaf black tea bags

Handful of fresh mint springs (add according to taste)

Honey 1-2 TBSP

Bring water to boil with chopped mint and honey.   Once boiling, turn off heat and add tea bags.  Let sit to cool, pour through strainer to remove tea bags and mint springs.  Add ice, chill. (I think after days of sitting it’s even better!)   Enjoy!

photo

Remember to keep an open mind.  One more thing I’d like to share then I’m off to enjoy this Sunday afternoon.  I happened to attend a gym yoga class this AM (against my usual preference).  I reminded myself to keep an open mind and positive attitude knowing I can learn something from each instructor.   I was pleasantly surprised that the teacher was power yoga certified and class was nearly as challenging as my power yoga class yesterday (minus the heat.)  I spoke to the instructor after class and she is familiar and highly encourages the  Power Yoga Certification Training  I will start in June.  It is a 200 hour training based on Baptiste Power Vinyasa Yoga.   I really enjoyed my class today.  Wishing you a sweet Sunday!

Leave a Reply

