“This yoga should be practiced with firm determination and perseverance, without any mental reservation or doubts.” – Bhagavad Gita: My journey into Power Vinyasa Yoga Teacher Certification

May 18, 2011

It’s official!  I’ve enrolled in the Power Vinyasa Yoga Teacher Certification (200 hours) at Power Yoga Works Philadelphia Studio today and my  “Journey into Power” Baron Baptiste  book arrived last night!  I can’t tell you how excited I am now that it’s real and I’m about to start this challenging journey in 30 days!   Did you know the meaning of my name, Keli, means both “bright headed” and “warrior woman?”  How fitting 😉  I welcome you to follow my yoga certification journey through this blog and on this Good Life Power Yoga Facebook

I want to thank and mention several people who have influenced and had impact on my yoga journey which started not too long ago in February 2009.  Special thanks to previous instructors(and now friends) Nancy and Kate,  friends(who are also instructors)Jennifer and Carrie, present instructors Lisa, Carmencita, and Richard and extra special thanks to my friend Somer who introduced me to the next level in my practice-Hot Power Yoga.  I would not be where I am today in yoga and would not be getting certified in Power Yoga had Sommer not entered my life.  I can’t explain in words how much it’s done for my mind, body, and spirit and how grateful I am for Somer introducing me to it.

The certification program fee is $1500.  Power Yoga Works is the only Registered Yoga Alliance Power Vinyasa Yoga Teaching School In The Tri-State Area.  To meet the Yoga Alliance registry criteria, Yoga Alliance requires that you complete 180 contact hours and 20 non-contact hours with Yoga Alliance registered school.

The training includes and topics studied:

Intensive study of postures including Sanskrit names of postures,
Art of assisting, Sequencing postures and designing your class, Becoming a inspiring teacher, Modifications for postures, Ujayi breathing and Pranayama, Principles of demonstration, observation, assisting/correcting, instruction, teaching styles, qualities of a teacher, and the student’s process of learning.  Includes practice teaching as well as observing and assisting in classes, Lifestyles and ethics for yoga teachers, Journaling, Business of Yoga, Unlimited Yoga Classes Until Graduation, Continued Mentorship After Training, Free Attendance To Future PYW Teacher Trainings After Graduation.

The 200 hour Teacher Training Program consists of 63 contact hours of weekend teacher training  and at least 180 contact hours at  yoga school and 20 non-contact hours of which are home study assignments done outside our yoga school.   The dates for the 2011 Summer Teacher Training are below.  I’m slightly nervous that the trainings are on Saturdays and Sundays rather than weekdays but I know they will go by quickly.

Saturday June 18th & Sunday June 19th
Saturday June 25th & Sunday June 26th
Saturday July 9th & Sunday July 10th
Saturday July 16th & Sunday July 17th
Saturday July 23rd & Sunday July 24th
Saturday July 30th & Sunday July 31st
Saturday August 6th & Sunday August 7th

Bill Raup is the founder and owner of Power Yoga Works and instructor for our course.  I’m including his background from the website link above.  “Bill Raup, 500 ERYT, is the founder of Power Yoga Works with two affiliate Baptiste Power Vinyasa Yoga Institute studios in Philadelphia, PA and Malvern, PA and leads all the teacher training sessions. Bill Raup, one of the first certified master teachers of Baron Baptiste, started the PYW teacher training over a decade ago. Bill has been named one of the “Area’s Best Yoga Instructors” by Philadelphia Magazine in 2010. Bill’s studios also have been awarded “Best of Philly” for yoga by Philadelphia Magazine in 2008. “

One Response to ““This yoga should be practiced with firm determination and perseverance, without any mental reservation or doubts.” – Bhagavad Gita: My journey into Power Vinyasa Yoga Teacher Certification”

  1. sam Says:

    Im so excited to hear of your journey and the discoveries that you will make along the way.


Leave a Reply

