If You Can’t Change It, Embrace It

June 16, 2011

Photo from My Spoonful of Inspiration

If you can’t change it, embrace it.  Accept it as an opportunity, a challenge, or at the very least recognize what you can learn from it and grow. Last night I attended a power yoga class and for the first time a friend joined me.  I was so excited to have him join me.  It was a challenge for me to get through the class though.  It was not a typical power yoga class and I wasn’t particularly fond of the instructor;s style or sequences.  It was a struggle to eliminate the negative chatter in my head and for a brief moment thought “I can’t stand this class!”  Getting upset is not fair to myself or the instructor.  Yoga is always a practice and each practice on the mat will always be different.   I asked myself “How can I embrace this opportunity and benefit from the experience?  and “What could I learn from this teacher?” The mind and body benefits from doing something different and new so I accepted the class, took away what I could from it, and felt proud after completing it.

This morning I woke up to an email that had me upset and rather annoyed before my first sip of coffee.  (lesson one:  always have a few sips of coffee before opening email!)  I was annoyed and wanted to go back to bed but knew that was not an option.  I kindly responded to the email and went straight to the gym for cardio.  In my frustrated state of mind I must have misread the group fitness schedule and ended up in a challenging and fun body works weight class.  I felt refreshed and happy upon my return home.   When I checked email again it turned out that the messages earlier were really nothing more than a simple misunderstanding which lead to even better things between me and this person.  I’m sure glad I took a kind and courtesy approach in my response to their initial email!  Think about it…and respond before you react.

My day continues to get better.  I discovered an amazing product last night and I can not wait to try.  This afternoon I connected with the company by email and telephone.  Stay tuned next week as I will reviewing and sharing the product with you.  It’s a product that I am very excited about.  To give you just a hint their email signature was signed with “Stay balanced, stay grounded, feel the buzz!”

To close, I’d like to leave you with a short story that I found this morning on the back of a newsletter I received in the mail from 4 Star Smiles Dental Care  in West Chester, Pennsylvania.

SOME THINGS YOU CAN’T CHANGE…

A young man named Nasreddin planted a flower garden, but when the flowers came up so did a great crop of dandelions among them. Wishing to eliminate the unwanted guests, Nasreddin consulted with gardeners near and far, but none of their solutions worked.

Finally, Nasreddin traveled to the palace of the sheik to seek the wisdom of the royal gardener himself. But alas, Nasreddin had already tried all the methods the kind old man recommended to him for eradicating such troublesome weeds.

Silently they sat together for a good long time. At last, the royal gardener looked at Nasreddin and said, “Well, then, the only thing I can suggest is that you learn to love them.”  Nasreddin’s Flower Garden-Traditional Sufi Story


Leave a Reply

